| +234 9045292260 | +234 9045292260


Our History, Development and Future Projections

YUMSUK's History

Formation of the Technical Committee

The Technical Committee compiled and submitted its report to the Government, and His Excellency, Governor Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso presented the report to the state house of assembly for the legal backing to establish the university. Thereafter the National University Commission was contacted for a final permission to establish the university. The National Universities Commission (NUC) on Tuesday, 27th March, 2012 at Abuja officially granted permit for the establishment of Northwest University, Kano as the 37th State University and the 123rd University in the Nigerian University System.

With the formal permission granted by the National university commission the Governor Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, FNSE inaugurated an Implementation Committee for the establishment of the University on Tuesday, 27th March, 2012 at Aminu Kano House, Abuja. The Implementation Committee headed by Prof. Hafiz Abubakar was immediately set up and inaugurated to work out all the requirements for the smooth takeoff of the institution including the appointment of the Principal Officers, Founding Deans, Academic and Non Academic Staff, admission of the 1st set of students, production of staff conditions of service, students examination regulations, syllabuses among others. The formation of the four take-up faculties namely the faculty of Education, Humanities, Social and Management Sciences and the faculty of science were all concretized by the the committee. A total number of 14 academic departments with 28 programmes were approved for the university by the National university commission.

Future Academic Direction of the University

The development of the academic structure of the Northwest University was divided into phases. The phases are meant to ensure logical progression in the development of the academic structure of the University. This shall be the core strategy of the University in ensuring that its academic programmes attain the level of a world class University.

A 20-year four-phased academic development was envisaged for the Northwest University. At the end of the 20-year period it is expected that all faculties, departments and programmes shall be established with their full academic programmes. Each phase of the academic development of the University shall be for a period of 5 years and it shall be marked by the establishment of new faculties, departments and/or academic programmes. The phases were designed and enumerated as follows:-

Phase Duration Session
Phase 1 5 years 2012/13 – 2016/17
Phase 2 5 years 2017/18 – 2021/22
Phase 3 5 years 2022/23 – 2026/27
Phase 4 5 years 2027/28 – 2031/32


The Northwest University was designed as a faculty-based system for the development of its academic structure. Each faculty shall have related departments under its mandate area and the departments shall have academic programmes under them.

It is planned and envisaged that the Northwest University shall, at its optimum growth after 20 years of establishment, have 12 faculties with 71 departments running 267 programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. It shall also have two schools to cater for needs of postgraduate, remedial and general studies and the school of General, Entrepreneurial and Remedial Studies programmes, namely: the School of Postgraduate Studies and the School of General, Entrepreneurial studies (CCE) so as to cater for short-term courses. The faculties and schools envisaged at full capacity of the Northwest University at its maturity are as follows:-

  1. Faculty of Agriculture
  2. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  3. Faculty of Clinical Sciences
  4. Faculty of Education
  5. Faculty of Engineering
  6. Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  7. Faculty of Humanities
  8. Faculty of Information and Communication Technology
  9. Faculty of Law
  10. Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  11. Faculty of Science
  12. School of General, Entrepreneurial and Remedial Studies
  13. School of Postgraduate Studies
  14. Centre for Continuing Education (CCE).

The composition of the implementation committee consisted the following:

i. Dr. Hafiz Abubakar (Now Professor)
Bayero University, Kano
ii. Professor Muhammad Yahuza
Bello Bayero University, Kano
iii. Professor Fatima Batul Mukhtar
Bayero University, Kano
iv. Dr. Binta Tijjani Jibril
Bayero University, Kano assigned
v. Professor Umar Garba Dambatta
National Communications Commission, Abuja
vi. Dr. Umar Faruk Jibril
Hon. Commissioner of Information, Kano State
vii. Barrister Maliki Kuliya Umar
Hon. Commissioner of Justice, Kano State
viii. Alh. Umar Haruna Doguwa
Hon. Commissioner Ministry for Higher Education, Kano
ix. Arc. Sani Ali
Director Physical Planning Bayero University, Kano
x. Dr. Nasir Ibrahim Dantiye
Retired Civil Servant
xi. Alh. Aminu Abba
National Universities Commission, Abuja
xii. Dr. Abdulkadir Muhammad
Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil
xiii. Alh. Faruk Muhammad Yanganau
Kwara State University, Malete
xiv. Alh. Sanusi Abdullahi Nassarawa
National Library Board, Abuja
xv. Alh. Abdullahi M. Gezawa
Permanent Secretary Establishment
Office of the Head of Civil Service, Kano
xvi. Alh. Muhammadu Nadu Yahaya
Hon. Commissioner Ministry of Lands and Survey, Kano
xvii. Alh. Abba Kabiru Yusuf
Hon. Commissioner Ministry of Works and Housing, Kano
xviii. Alh. Usman Bala Muhammad
Director Administration and General Services
Ministry of Environment, Kano


Our Philosophy

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart. I am alone, and feel the charm of existence.

Our Mission

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart. I am alone, and feel the charm of existence.

Our Vision

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart. I am alone, and feel the charm of existence.

Go To Mostbet Casino
slot gacor